EAST FAIRFIELD TOWNSHIP — Dedication of a memorial in remembrance of the previous Saints Peter and Paul Church on the Pettis Cemetery is set for Saturday at 1 p.m.
The memorial is positioned within the 8000 block of Pettis Highway and is simply north of the intersection of Pettis, Lippert and Creveling roads. It stands on the previous web site of the church inbuilt 1893.
The purple brick church served the native Roman Catholic congregation for almost 100 years. It closed in December of 1992 and was dismantled in 2015. Parts of the unique construction have been included into the memorial. The memorial options two of the stained glass home windows, the date stone, threshold stone and the unique bell.
Included within the design are engraved bricks and pavers given as a portion of the fundraising effort to determine a everlasting reminder of the existence of the church. Lots of the names of former parishioners are amongst these remembered and their graves are within the cemetery.
The unique church and cemetery have been established as a mission church of St. Hippolyte in Frenchtown. A easy wooden body church was inbuilt 1844 after which changed with the bigger brick construction in 1893 to accommodate growing attendance.
Pettis Cemetery incorporates greater than 500 graves and continues to be an energetic burial floor, in accordance with Mark Roche, a member of the Pettis memorial committee. Info regarding the buy of tons can be obtainable on the dedication.
Following dedication ceremonies, people can be obtainable till 3 p.m. to supply data regarding the former church, the graves of the previous parishioners, and the cemetery.