When a Catholic household determined to begin a church simply off the Route 1 hall within the early 1700s, they needed to be secretive about it.
The church was burned, apparently accidentally, throughout the Revolutionary Warfare. It was rebuilt, however burned down once more by British troopers throughout the Warfare of 1812 as they marched towards Washington after the Battle of Bladensburg. After being rebuilt, it was once more burned down by Union troopers within the Civil Warfare.
This time, it wasn’t rebuilt till 1908, when it was renamed for St. Francis de Gross sales — an acceptable selection since he was recognized for his gentle approach to the violent divisions between Catholics and Protestants.
In 1927, the congregation moved St. Francis de Sales to its present location at 2015 Rhode Island Ave. NE, the place right now it boasts of being the oldest steady congregation in D.C.
The location of the unique church is now a part of Langdon Elementary at 1900 Evarts St. NE, however its identify lives on in a Hyattsville neighborhood known as Queens Chapel and the highway that runs by way of it.
Help the Wire and Group Journalism
Make a one-time donation or change into an everyday supporter here.